George S. V. Wills – English Chemist

I came across a little book recently called The Works of George S. V. Wills and The Westminster College of Chemistry and Pharmacy. I knew prior to this discovery that we have a George Wills in our family tree who was an accomplished builder and sculptor in Northamptonshire, England, in the early 1800s.  His dates as I have them listed are 22 Feb 1793 to 24 July 1856. This is a family line that has been on my “to-do” list for quite some time, and I must admit that this curious little book spurred me to place the Wills higher up in my research priorities. The first few chapters give sufficient detail about G.S.V. Wills to know that he was a grandson of our George Wills who was a son of Sampson Wills, also a well known builder in his day. So I have plenty of information to work with to piece some more family details together, and I will begin to share them in subsequent posts.

George Wills, 1793-856, Image from private family archives. George Wills' original portrait was inherited by his daughter Martha according to the will

George Wills, 1793-856, Image from private family archives. George Wills’ original portrait was inherited by his daughter Martha according to the will

Meanwhile, I am including an image of George Wills that has traveled down through the generations and landed with me and my family. George was married to Mary Capon, whose mother, Mary Pitt Capon, was supposedly a cousin of William Pitt, prime minister of England from 1783-1801.

I have done searches on the Wills name on the LDS site and have come up with dozens of Wills ancestors but have yet to find those on our direct line. The areas in Northamptonshire I am focusing my research on are Stony Stratford, Blisworth, and Roade. I believe George Wills is buried in the Holy Trinity Church in Wolverton, Buckingham, England. If anyone reading this has any details to share, please get in touch. Thanks.

Update (12/11): Since writing this entry, I have made many posts about the Wills family. Click on “Wills” in the left-hand column under “Surnames”. It’s best to read them in chronological order. For G.S.V. Wills family exclusively, click here.

England map

Locations of Roade and Blisworth

Categories: Blisworth, Northamptonshire, Pitt, Pime Minister William, Roade, Northants, Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire, Wills, Wolverton, Buckinghamshire | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “George S. V. Wills – English Chemist

  1. David Gio

    Hello – I did some research on my great great grandfather some time ago as my mother’s maiden name was Wills. I knew from an early age that he had founded the Westminster College of Pharmaceutics and had published various books, some of which were still available via the second-hand market.
    My mother, Constance Gertrude Gilbert married Cecil George Gilbert, and practiced as a dispensing chemist for Boots in the pre-war years.

    After a break of several years, I am now trying to research the family history in more depth and would be grateful for any information that you might be able to supply.

    Kind Regards,

    David Gilbert

    Like

    • This is part of my line too. GSV Wills was my grandmothers grandfather!
      Colin Newton… I have quite a lot of detail on the tree. How can I access –
      The Works of George S. V. Wills and The Westminster College of Chemistry and Pharmacy.

      Like

    • To David Gilbert—my cousin in England..My name is Bruce Reginald Wills,My father was Auntie Connie”s younger Brother…Reginald Arthur Wills 1908-1986 I am his eldest son, and I remember going to 55 aungast road in the 1940’s-1950’s and did you have a sister Shirley ? Diid you live over a Barber shop? Long time ago..we lived in Wallington at 13 West Avenue..which house is still there today..my email address is bwills04@live.com I am in Long Beach California, my sister Daphne is visiting England right now..You have a relative grandson of Auntie Dorothy..Colin Newton of innovative-solutions.com

      Like

  2. David Gilbert

    I believe G.S.V.Wills to be my great great grandfather. I have known for many years about the founding of the Westminster Pharmaceutical college and the various books that he published. My mother, nee Constance Gertrude Wills, married Cecil George Gilbert, and worked as a dispensing chemist for Boots prior to WW2.
    I am interested in pursuing any links to further my research into the family as various nieces and nephews are showing an interest in their lineage!

    I would be very grateful for any information that you might be able to supply.

    Kind Regards

    David Gilbert

    Like

    • David – my grandmother was Dorothy Warren nee Wills her sister was Constance. We called her Great Aunty Conny – did she live many years in New Zealand? I have some video of her…

      I thought her husband was John Gilbert?
      I have record of Jonathon,Olive SHirley and Irene – but not yourself??

      I would love to see your tree?

      Are you on Genes reunited??
      Colin Newton

      inclusive.solutions@me.com

      please email me ASAP

      Like

  3. David Gilbert

    Hello Colin

    I new Aunty Dorrie (as we called her) well. We visited a few times when she was living in Ipswich with her daughters and, as I remember, a son. My father’s real name was Cecil George, but he was always called John.
    My sisters are Olive, Irene, Phyllis, and Shirley. There was a baby boy called John who died at 3 months of age. I was the final, successful, attempt to have a boy!

    Unfortunatley the original family tree that I constructed was accidentally spolled by an elderly relative and I haven’t managed to recreate it.

    We still own a writing desk, and other bit and pieces, presented to G.S.V.Wills by his students.

    As for Mum, she lived happily in N.Z. for 30 years, returning twice to visit when in her 80’s. Her final year was spent in an old folks home, and the night before she died, was playing the piano to entertain the other residents.

    You can contact me via daybo2@ntlworld.com and I’ll see what other documents we can pass on.

    Dave Gilbert

    Like

    • Colin Newton

      Wow – this is amazing!

      Where do you live now?

      The blog is excellent and is helping my Family Tree work no end! There was lots of tree info you had put there on there based on your grandmothers work…

      I have a lovely piece of video of Dorothy and Constance talkiing in Ipswich – I will find a way to put on line for you to look at…

      I would love a picture of G.S.V.Wills writing desk! DO you have any photos of him? I have one only.

      Could I trouble you for birth places/and dates of birth for you and your brothers and sisters and any info on offspring?

      Do you want to see the tree I have created… I have Jabez’s wife’s name for instance…

      Not sure how best to do this…

      Regards,
      COlin (second cousin?)

      Like

  4. You don’t give your name anywhere so I am not sure to whom I am writing? Georgina Wills, daughter of George S V Wills, was my grandmother. The botanical pictures for the students were painted by Georgina and I would love to have some of those! Also I have been wondering where on earth I could find the little book you speak of written by Rev Phillip Barns. Any idea where I could find a copy?
    Susie Cazenove

    Like

    • Hello, Susie; Thank you for visiting my blog! My name is on the ‘About’ page. I’m glad you came across some useful information. Could you tell me which botanical pictures you are referring to? As for the book itself, all I can suggest is regularly checking online sources like eBay, Amazon, Alibris, etc. You may get lucky. Otherwise, my blog has all the pages but you probably noticed that! https://chipsofftheoldblock.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/g-s-v-wills-memoirs/

      Some other GSV Wills descendants have been in touch with me via the blog. If you’d like to send me an email at chipsoff at gmail dot com, I will forward your email address to them. (I am a descendant of GSV Wills’ Aunt Mary Capon Wills.) Also, if you have any additional info you want to share on the Wills line, please feel free to do so!

      Like

    • Hi Susie – where do you fit into family tree – I cannot find your name in the records I have collected so far…
      Thanks Colin Newton

      Like

      • Susie Cazenove

        My grandmother was Georgina Wills, daughter of George S V Wills – of Westminster College. Georgie married Arthur Pratt and they lived in South Africa which is probably why I know nothing about her family. What is your connection?

        >

        Like

      • my grandmother was Dorothy Warren nee Wills her sister was Constance. We called her Great Aunty Conny – did she live many years in New Zealand? I have some video of her… My mother is Dorothy’s daughter.

        SO you were Susan Pratt – was David Pratt – one of the heroes of the family it seems to me – your brother? Was Peggy your sister?

        I would love to see your family tree? Do you have one?

        I have recently been in touch with Bruce Wills who lives in California – son of Reginald and Leila Wills

        Are you on Genes reunited??
        Colin Newton

        inclusive.solutions@me.com

        please email me ASAP

        Like

      • Susie Cazenove

        David Pratt was my father, Peggy my aunt. Her son is Jeremy Ricketts and none of us knows very much. I was curios about the William Pitt link but now gather it’s very distant! My grandmother’s sisters were Edith and Lillian Maude so where does Dorothy come in? Susie

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

        Like

      • Mum remembers that Aunty Georgy sent a hamper
        every christmas to Nanny Warren

        Like

      • Wow – David is one of my heroes in the family in his attempt to end apartheid so dramatically but with such a tragic end to his life… Do you have family photos you might share and dates of birth etc on the family as I am trying to build the family tree – I could send you what I have already if you share email address? Georgina had a brother Harry married to Lillian Mary King and one of their daughters was Dorothy my grandmother. I have a picture of you but no other details about you or your siblings.

        Like

      • Check out this video of Dorothy and Connie Wills in later life – both daughters of Harry….

        Like

      • Susie Cazenove

        That was nice of her. I wonder if your Mum knows if my grandmother had a sister called Mabel?

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

        Like

      • Yes – Mabel Wills who was described by my Great Aunty Connie (wills) as the brightest fun loving one who married an Anglo Indian… I have a group photo and more from Aunty Connie of you could share your email address? Did you like the video?

        Like

      • Mum does not remember her but suggests Olive might…

        Like

      • Susie Cazenove

        I can’t see a video to open.

        >

        Like

      • Just click on web site link to connect to you tube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGvqhpISmq0&feature=youtu.be

        Like

Leave a reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Hello Hygge

Finding hygge everywhere

Well, That Was Different

Travel Stories, Expatriate Life, Undiplomatic Commentary and Some Pretty Good Photos

Sketching Family

Urban Sketching

Observaterry

Terry's view on things

Giselle Potter

Illustrator

Emma

Politics, things that make you think, and recreational breaks

The Sketchbook

MOSTLY MONTREAL, MOST OF THE TIME

Smart Veg Recipes

Welcome to home made, vegeterian, healthy & kids friendly recipes

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

Travels with Janet

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Do Svidanya Dad

Exploring Dad's Unusual Story From NJ to the USSR

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

TOWER AND FLIGHTS

In The Beginning Man Tried Ascending To Heaven via The Tower Of Babel. Now He Tries To Elevate His Existence Using Hallucinogenic Drugs. And, Since The 20th Century, He Continually Voyages Into Outer Space Using Spacecrafts. Prayer Thru Christ Is The Only Way To Reach Heaven.

London, Hollywood

I'm Dominic Wells, an ex-Time Out Editor. I used to write about films. Now I write them.

Uma Familia Portuguesa

A história da nossa família

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

The Good, the Bad and the Italian

food/films/families and more

dvn ms kmz time travel

This is all about my travels to the past... my reflections and musings about yesteryear, as I find the stories of a people passed away and learn how to tell them.

newarkpoems

350 years of Newark in verse 1666-2016

Russian Universe

Understanding Russia with a Russian

Bulldog Travels

Everything and Nothing Plus Some Pretty Photos

Dances with Wools

knitting, spinning, dyeing, and related fiber arts

Life After Caregiving

On caregivers, faith, family, and writing...

Why'd You Eat That?

Food Folklore for the everyday scholar. These are the stories behind the foods we eat.

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Almost Home

Genealogy Research and Consulting

Old Bones Genealogy of New England

Genealogy and Family History Research

ferrebeekeeper

Reflections Concerning Art, Nature, and the Affairs of Humankind (also some gardening anecdotes)

Map of Time | A Trip Into the Past

Navigating Through Someplace Called History

Out Here Studying Stones

Cemeteries & Genealogy

WeGoBack

family research ... discover your ancestry

the Victorian era

Did I misplace my pince-nez again? Light reading on the 19th century.

"Greatest Generation" Life Lessons

This is the story of an ordinary family, trying to live an ordinary life during an extraordinary time frame, and the lessons they learn through experience.

Moore Genealogy

Fun With Genealogy

Meeting my family

RESEARCHING MY FAMILY TREE

Shaking the tree

musings on the journey towards knowing and sharing my family's stories

A Hundred Years Ago

Food and More

Scots Roots

Helping you dig up your Scots roots.

Root To Tip

Not just a list of names and dates

